Hello, intarwebs!

August 12, 2010

I often struggle with first sentences of new things, whether they be essays, journals, or in this particular case, a blog.  Let’s give this a whirl, shall we?  Hi, my name is Cassie, and I make very awkward introductions.

Now that that’s out of the way… I’ve been thinking a long time about starting a blog about science, symbolism from every day life, and things I happen to find interesting.  However, what’s prevented me in the past was that I felt under qualified to comment on such matters, particularly science, and my life has always been uneventful.  …Or so I thought anyway.  As of late, my life has gotten more interesting by several orders of magnitude.  During the past couple months, I have graduated with a double major in physics and astrophysics from this lovely place and was accepted to graduate school from this wonderful place. However, I am currently taking a well-deserved break from my education and am currently working as a research assistant in the Astronomy department of the aforementioned lovely place.  I have also been involved in a very ugly breakup recently, blown up a vacuum chamber, and bought a dress worth more than my computer.  Friends have often said I should write a book, and people would actually read it.  A blog will have to do… for now.  As I touched on previously, I hope to talk about the following subjects:

  • Science.  I’ve always felt under qualified to comment on such matters, being a student and all…  Plus, the things I found exciting as a student were things that had already been old news for a while.  However, we’ll brush those things aside and I will attempt to make intelligible discussion of more current happenings, since I recently crawled out from the rock I live under and re-discovered newspapers and news feeds.
  • Symbolism from everyday life.  Whenever I watch a movie or a T.V. show, I tend to pick it apart and analyze it like I would a classic novel.  Sometimes I come up with interesting conclusions, sometimes I don’t.
  • Things I happen to find interesting.  We’ll try to keep this high-brow and limit it to politics, religion, psychology and the like.  However, it might take unexpected detours into my personal life because, let’s face it, that shit is entertaining.

But who would appreciate the wayward ramblings of a recent physics grad?  I do believe that question is best answered by you, dear reader.

5 Responses to “Hello, intarwebs!”

  1. Welcome to the intertubes. I look forward to hearing more from you!

  2. Feel free to submit to us! Shoot me an email: anubishift at yahoo dot com.

  3. I’m no crazy future-man, but I have a good feeling about your blog… I’ll be visiting! I love a good science read.

Leave a Reply

